

AAI BUSINESS MEETING & AWARDS PRESENTATION AGENDA

Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021TM

Around the World Thursday May 13 5:00 PM ET – 7:00 PM ET

5:00 PM <u>Call to Order and Opening Comments</u> AAI Chief Executive Officer M. Michele Hogan

- Tribute to Deceased Members 2019-2021
- AAI Membership Update
- Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021TM Highlights and Statistics
- Recognition of Virtual IMMUNOLOGY2021TM Sponsors
- Future AAI Annual Meetings
- 2020 2021 Awards, Careers, and Educational Programs
- AAI 2020 and 2021 Courses
- 5:20 PM <u>Public Affairs Report</u> AAI Committee on Public Affairs Chair **Ross Kedl,** Univ. of Colorado Anschutz Sch. of Med.
- 5:40 PM <u>Finance Report</u> AAI Secretary – Treasurer **Edith Lord**, Univ. of Rochester Sch. of Med. and Dentistry
- 6:00 PM <u>Report on AAI Journals</u> Editor in Chief, *The Journal of Immunology* **Eugene Oltz,** The Ohio State Univ. Editor in Chief, *ImmunoHorizons* **Mark Kaplan**, Indiana Univ.

Questions and Answers will be taken before Awards Presentations

6:30 PM Presentation of 2020 and 2021 Awards M. Michele Hogan

2020 AAI Distinguished Service Award

For outstanding service to AAI and the immunology community as Director of the AAI Introductory Course, 2014 - 2019

Recipient: Juan-Carlos (JC) Züñiga-Pflücker, University of Toronto, Sunnybrook Res. Inst.

2021 Meeting Awards

Pfizer-Showell Travel Award

To recognize the professional promise of an early career investigator by providing travel assistance to the AAI annual meeting

Recipient: Monika Bambouskova, Ph.D., Washington Univ. Sch. of Med.

Lefrançois-BioLegend Memorial Award

To advance the career of a trainee who attends the AAI annual meeting and presents an outstanding abstract specifically in the area of mucosal immunology **Recipient: Jacob Van Winkle,** Oregon Hlth. & Sci. Univ.

Lustgarten-Thermo Fisher Scientific Memorial Award

To advance the career of a mid-career scientist who attends the AAI annual meeting and presents an outstanding abstract specifically in the area of immune regulation **Recipient**: **Venuprasad K. Poojary, Ph.D.,** Univ. of Texas Southwestern Med. Ctr.

Chambers-Thermo Fisher Scientific Memorial Award

To advance the career of an early-career scientist who attends the AAI annual meeting and presents an outstanding abstract specifically in the area of cancer biology **Recipient: Timotheus Y.F. Halim, Ph.D.,** Univ. of Cambridge, Cambridge, U.K.

AAI-Thermo Fisher Trainee Achievement Awards

To recognize promising trainees in the field of immunology
Recipients: Adeleye O. Adeshakin, Graduate Student, Univ. of Chinese Acad. of Sci., Beijing, China
Ian C. Boothby, Graduate Student, Univ. of California, San Francisco
Betsabel J. Chicana, Graduate Student, Univ. of California, Merced
Elliot H. Akama-Garren, Graduate Student, Harvard Med. Sch.
Elizabeth S. Borden, Graduate Student, Univ. of Arizona Col. of Med.
Masato Ogishi, M.D., Graduate Student, The Rockefeller Univ.

7:00 PM Adjournment